EPGE wins awards in four of the five categories of the 38th Brazilian Econometrics Meeting

The 38th Brazilian Econometrics Meeting, promoted by the Brazilian Econometrics Society, was held on December 13-16 in Foz do Iguaçu (PR). The event, which paid tribute to the 70 years of Professor Aloisio Araujo, had the presentation of selected papers and were brought to the public and to the judging committee. The Special Prize-delivery Ceremony took place on December 15th and awarded the following EPGE participants:

Professors Cecília Machado, Lucas Maestri, Carlos Eugênio Costa, Felipe Iachan, were awarded with the first place in the categories Applied Microeconomics, Economic Theory and Finance, respectively.

Professors Francisco Costa and Pedro Cavalcanti, co-authored by PhD student Heron Rios, were awarded second place in the categories Applied Microeconomics and Applied Macroeconomics, respectively.

Check out the EPGE winning works and their authors:

Applied Microeconomics:

1st place:
Bright Minds, Big Rent: Gentrication and the Rising Returns to Skill
Cecilia Machado (FGV EPGE), Lena Edlund (Columbia University) and Maria Sviatschi (Columbia University)

2nd place
The Power of the State: National Borders and the Deforestation of the Amazon
Robin Burgess (London School of Economics), Francis Costa (FGV EPGE) and Benjamin Olken (MIT)

Applied Macroeconomics:

2nd place
Trade Policy in a Dynamic Heckscher-Ohlin Model
Heron Rios (FGV EPGE), Pedro Cavalcanti Ferreira (FGV EPGE) and Alberto Trejos (INCAE)


1st place
The Choice Channel of Financial Innovation
Felipe Iachan (FGV EPGE), Plamen Nenov (Norwegian Business School) and Alp Simsek (MIT)

Economic Theory

1st place
Optimal Mirrleesian Taxation in Non-competitive Labor Markets
Lucas Maestri (FGV EPGE) and Carlos E. da Costa (FGV EPGE)